Wk 6 – Artist Conversation – A short story inspired by Ariel Maldonado’s work

img_4732
Ariel Maldonado. Talk to Strangers. Ceramics. 12″ x 10″ 2017 CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

I’m 17 years old, waiting patiently at the doctor’s office to get a physical done. I mainly avoided sports in high school till I had to get around to one, forcing me to find out how “unhealthy” I am, as how I saw it. As I was sitting there, in the corner of my eye, I noticed this play toy with wires. Threaded in those wires, there are these variations of shapes (squares, spheres, etc.) where you can drag a single piece or all of the pieces from one end of the wire, along the track to the other end of the wire. I remember I played with this all the time, somehow managing to spend minutes to hours just playing with it, until I got a headache from it.

I just thought, this might be the last time I’ll play with this kind of thing, as once I am 18, I am no longer able to see this doctor’s office anymore and get transferred to a new one. I approached it, but right then,  the clinic’s door swung open. I was called for my turn. I went inside and quickly left the office, forgetting the chance to play with it once more.

To comment on this artwork piece, this reminded me of that play toy found in various doctor’s offices all over the place. I am not sure how or why I found myself obsessing over it till I got a headache from concentrating on it too much, but it was quite nostalgic to see once more, but in this art piece form.

img_4731.jpg

Leave a Reply

